Negeri Sembilan

Negeri Sembilan Kerala Samajam (NSKS)

The history of Negeri Sembilan Kerala Samajam goes way back to the years of the early 1950’s, when groups of migrant and local Malayalees, occasionally met in small towns near their place of employment. During these short acquaintances, they shared their news and information on events taking place in their villages in Kerala.

Over time, these small groups of Malayalees got together to celebrate the auspicious festivals of Vishu and Onam. Word began to spread within the community about these informal gatherings and soon there was rousing interest from Malayalees of all faiths from the plantations, government sector and business community, to participate in these annual gatherings. Consequently, the idea of establishing a Samajam was mooted to bring together all the Malayalees in the state of Negeri Sembilan.

On 24th July 1953, Mr. Raghavan Pillai, popularly known as the "Malaysia Ramakrishna Pillai" initiated the formation of an association for the Malayalees in Negeri Sembilan. On 16th June 1954, a proposal was put forward to form a pro-tem committee tasked with drawing up the framework, with guidelines, for the establishment of a Samajam to maintain and promote the arts, culture, language and traditions of Kerala amongst the Malayalees in Negeri Sembilan.

On 4th September 1954, at a gathering held at No: 80, Jalan Dato Bandar Tunggal, Seremban to discuss the formation of the Negeri Sembilan Kerala Samajam, a pro-tem committee was formed. The aim of the Samajam was to bring together all Malayalees in the state under an official and registered body headed by able leaders, to strengthen the bonding amongst the Malayalees during the challenging periods (1950 to 1957). The formation of the Samajam was communicated by word of mouth in the work place and there was overwhelming interest to join the Negeri Sembilan Kerala Samajam. Significantly, Malayalee planters played a crucial role in encouraging the workers to join the Samajam and provided free transport for them to attend important gatherings.

 Mr. P. Divakaran, in his welcoming speech, briefed the gathering on the intention of setting up a society to cater for the Malayalees in the state and the roles it was envisaged to play. Mr. N.J. Nair, Mr. P.V. Aboo Bakar, Mr. Kathukotta Narayana Pillai, Mr. Kader, Mr. Ninan and Mr. P.V. Pillai of Selangor Kerala Samajam, in their respective speeches, indicated their support and advised of the advantages accruing from the formation of an association for Malayalees in the state.

In this gathering, two resolutions were proposed and both were unanimously approved by all present, namely:-
1) the establishment of the association to be known as "NEGERI SEMBILAN KERALA SAMAJAM, proposed by Mr. K. Panicker and seconded by Mr. P. Divakaran.
2) that the pro tem committee be elected as office bearers of newly formed ‘NEGERI SEMBILAN KERALA SAMAJAM”. The proposer for this resolution was Mr. M.M Nainan and seconded by Mr. N.J. Nair.
The following were the officials elected to head the newly formed Samajam:-
Chairman: Mr. M. M. Nainan
Vice Chairman: Mr. C. K. Dass
Secretary: Mr. N. J. Nair
Asst Secretary: Mrs. Warier
Treasurer: Mr. K. Panicker
Committee: Mr. R. Chandran, Mr. M.B. Kesavan, Mr. N.N. Nedunghat, Mr. C. Narayanan, Mr. K.P. Viswanathan, Mr. A.E. Periera,, Mrs. S. M. Warrier, Mr. P.V. Aboo Bakar, Mr. J.E. Fernandez and Mr. P. Divakaran.
Members present for the session were entertained with cultural performances and melodies of Kerala ganangal.

On 6th November 1955, the Negeri Sembilan Kerala Samajam,  held it's first Annual General Meeting at No: 106, Birch Road, Seremban (Information Centre) and about 150 members were present, to receive and adopt the Annual Report including new resolutions for consolidating the Rules & Regulations of the Samajam's Constitution.
It is with pride that it is stated that the Negeri Sembilan Kerala Samajam was one of the pioneer Malayalee organizations to be set up in the Federation of Malaya and it is with immense honour and gratitude that we append below the past Presidents of our Samajam

List of elected NSKS Presidents

1954 – 1966 Mr. K. Ramakrishnan Pillai PJK
1967 – 1967 Mr. K. P. Viswanathan
1967 – 1972 Mr. J. V. Fernandez
1972 – 1972 Mr. M. P. Kunchi Raman
1973 - 1973 Mr. J. R. Netto
1973 – 1975 Mr. A. J. Menon PJK
1975 - 1977 Mr. C. M. Menon PMC
1977 – 1979 Mr. A. K. J. D'Cruz
1979 – 1982 Mr. T. K. Vasudevan PPN, PKL
1982 – 1985 Mr. K. A. G. Menon
1985 – 1986 Mr. Parameswaran
1986 – 1987 Mr. K. P. R. Nayar
1987 – 1991 Mr. C. K. Prabaharan PMC, PJK
1991 – 1992 Mrs. Mary Easaw PJK
1992 – 1994 Mr. K. Purushothman PMC, PJK
1994 – 2010 Dr. T.V.K. Balakrishnan ANS, PMC
2010 – 2012 Mr. V. S. Kumaran PJK
2012- 2014 Dr. T.V.K. Balakrishnan ANS, PMC
2014- 2016 Mr. G. Subramaniam Nair


Dr.Chackrapani Pillay
Dr.Chackrapani PillayPresident
Palminee Nair
Palminee NairHon. Gen Treasurer
Asok Kumar Pillay
Asok Kumar PillayCommittee Member
Vasudevan Kandelan
Vasudevan KandelanCommittee Member
Rachel Gomez
Rachel GomezCommittee Member
Sukumaran Nair
Sukumaran NairDeputy President
Snehalatha Balakrishnan
Snehalatha BalakrishnanLadies Chairperson
Vennu Nair
Vennu NairCommittee Member
KV Krishna Kumar
KV Krishna KumarCommittee Member
Mohanan Nair
Mohanan NairVice President
Thyviyan Vellapan
Thyviyan VellapanYouth Chairman
JayanandanCommittee Member
Karuman Arumugam
Karuman ArumugamCommittee Member
Vijaya Nanoo
Vijaya NanooHon. Gen. Secretary
Mary George
Mary GeorgeAsst. Hon. Gen Secretary
BarghavanCommittee Member
Bavaani Gopalan
Bavaani GopalanCommittee Member


All Malaysian Malayalee Association


40-B, Lorong Rahim Kajai 14,
Taman Tun Dr.Ismail,  
60000 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Tel: +603-7725-8001/2
Fax: +603-7725-207